PRHS FFA Chapter holds year-end banquet

Posted: Thursday, May 24th, 2007

Members, officers and advisors of the Paso Robles FFA Chapter celebrated the completion of another successful year with their annual FFA banquet Tuesday night at Paso Robles High School.

The event was a chance for the chapter to hand out awards, thank sponsors and volunteers and look back on member accomplishments. Advisors recognized career development teams — such as vine pruning, livestock judging, floriculture, prepared public speaking, extemporaneous public speaking, creed speaking, welding, agriscience and parliamentary procedure — as well as the parents and community volunteers who made it possible.

Mike and Carol McNellis, members of the PRHS FFA Boosters, received honorary chapter degrees, parent Mark Perry earned the Blue and Gold Award and Randy Coons received the Distinguished Service Award. Other community members recognized included Ric Fuller, Dave Peters and Richard Sauret for their support of the vine pruning team, the Batdorf Family, Juan Nevarez, Sr. for his work in the school farm vineyard and parent supporters Beth Lantheaume, Johnna Malone and Sherry Sauret.

Students were also honored for their achievements. In the area of outstanding grade point average among members, freshmen Sarah Brush, Haydn Clement and Melissa Getchell, sophomore Christina Weber, junior Darci Malone and senior Jordan Janis were honored. In the area of curricular awards, Scarlett Ruiz was honored for ornamental horticulture/floral, Brianna Doran earned the agriscience award, Max Randolph was recognized for welding and Lisa Chon earned the leadership award. Freshman Brett Pike, sophomore Kelsey Quintanar, junior Mike Meyers and senior Casey Monn were named the chapter’s most improved students.

The Star Greenhand Award went to freshmen Clement and Taylor Walker and the Star Chapter Farmer Award went to sophomore Alex Cook.

To close the banquet, the advisors presented several senior awards. Senior Lisa Henry earned the DeKalb Award and the $500 Potter Memorial Scholarship. Senior Travis Smith earned the $500 Ralph Thomson Award, set aside for the school’s top Welder, and Caitlin Walker and Lauren Futhey earned $500 scholarships from the FFA Boosters. Walker also earned the Advisor’s Award.

The year-end banquet was also a time to say goodbye to the 2006-2007 officer team and install the 2007-2008 officer team. A trio of senior officers, recorder Lauren Albanese, secretary April Dalton and vice president Chon all delivered retiring addresses.

“I loved making new memories and getting closer to all my friends,” Chon said.

“I loved all the learning experience and getting to know this year’s officer team,” Dalton said.

Each credited their time as part of the PRHS FFA Chapter as one of the most important aspects of their high school careers.

“I’ll remember all the friendships and growing as a person,” Albanese said. “Learning who you really are is what happens when you’re a part of the FFA.”

“Before I used to be so immature and childish,” Chon said. “[Because of my FFA experience] I’ve grown, matured and found out who I really am.”

Chapter president Ellie McWhirter was pleased with all of the member’s accomplishments this year and leading the 2006-2007 officer team.

“Becoming close to this year’s officer team has been the best part of this experience,” McWhirter said.

McWhirter, who was elected vice president last spring and took over as president at the beginning of the year after Hannah Hutchings resigned, will continue as president during the 2007-2008 school year. She said she’s excited to see the chapter continue to grow and thrive.

“I’m looking forward to seeing everything we can accomplish,” McWhirter said. “We’re going to have almost a whole new officer team. It will be a lot of fun working with this new group of people.”

Filling out the officer team, Ashleigh Bowen will be vice president, Meyers will be treasurer, Jorden Remo will be secretary, Cook will be recorder, Tyler Stoll will be the historian and Clement will be the chapter sentinel.

Share on Facebook